Eight: In which I discover a new favourite sport!

Today is one of those super relaxed Sundays where I spend the whole day doing very little and only put on ‘proper clothes’ some time in the afternoon. And the only reason I’m doing so is because I need to go outside and nip to a shop – sad times!

But I digress… this week I’ve actually discovered some new: Ice Hockey!

Now I’m not really stupid, I’ve known about ice hockey for a while but this week I went to watch my first match which was for university varsity – basically my university play the other university in my city at pretty much every sport and whoever wins the most sports wins the series!

I was told that ice hockey was the absolute must watch, especially because it’s played at the National Ice Centre, and since the tickets were cheap my friends decided to give it a try. And I LOVED it! It was the best night I’ve had in ages – I laughed, I screamed, I cursed and I cheered. And even though we lost (boo!) I was well and truly hooked.

I don’t know whether it was because it’s fast paced and fun or whether because it was violent (I suspect it might be more of the latter) but I desperately wanted to watch more.

We actually have a pretty good team right here in Nottingham: The GMB Panthers! So I decided to see if there were any matches left in the season and I was in luck… there were quarter final playoffs at home last night and there were still tickets available! So dragging my other half along with me, we headed off to watch the Panthers and cement my new found love for the sport even further!

Yeah sure I don’t know alot of the rules, but the internet has helped. But I did have a fantastic evening and I’m desperately hoping that they get through to the next round (we won the first leg but there’s the away leg to play tonight!) so I can go again. Failing that I guess I’ll be waiting till next season.

It’s funny, I’m not always good with big crowds and lots of noise but as long as I feel safe and I’m with people I know, I can cope with sports. I’m not sure how I’d feel about a stadium of a hundred thousand but right now I can cope with ten thousand. Especially if it involves ice hockey and ends with Caramel Egg McFlurries!

20170401_220658

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

